Over-Saturation

“Plato pointed out that writing would place us in an unfortunate position: we would read ABOUT objects and then think that we understood them; we would read ABOUT subjects and then imagine that we knew them, as if from firsthand experience.”

If Plato had any hesitations about written word, God only knows what he’d be saying about social media.

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about the implications of social media, which made Emerson College Professor, Thomas Cooper’s, new book really fascinating. Fast Media, Media Fast is a book about the over saturation of media in our lives in the information age, and it proposes the concept of a Thoreau-like “Media Fast,” in which you cut out all media, some media, or certain media for a period of time.

The most striking points he makes, to me, are those that question whether original thinking is possible – what do I actually know when I can only hear myself think? Does being a constant consumer of information impact your ability to be a TRUE creator?

For young generations that are practically born with a smartphone in hand, the question is no longer how the wired world transforms self and society, but what it means that that their handheld devices ARE self and society.

I wonder if I could really take a media fast – if I could shut out as much media as could possibly be practical for a month, maybe even more. And what would I learn if I did?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

